Reflection

digital-teacher

Reflection

Throughout this assignment, I have learned a greater understanding of the importance, complexity and innovation Information Computer Technologies (ICT) has in my life and education. Comprehending the large and diverse scale of everyone’s multiple digital worlds and the opportunities society has access to through its connective prospects in social, work and learning life (Selwyn, 2012). Grasping the issues and disadvantages the digital divide causes, along with the efforts to bridge the gap by providing the right skills and education to be successful learners, educated employees and active digital citizens (United Nations Development Programme, 2001). Fostering approaches that support digital fluency to create learning abilities through communication and collaboration with multiple media and technology, to build upon new skills, resolve problems encountered and construct innovating concepts (Holland, 2016).

Considering all of these aspects of ICT, fostering education strategies to help develop, support and nurture digital competency is crucial to preparing students for the workforce and life-long learning (Howell, 2012). Education concepts such as the constructionist theory, allows students to navigate their own motivating and engaging learning path. This particular method encourages many of the critical ICT learning outcomes (Howell, 2012).

Constructing the assignment blog has developed, enhanced and broadened my digital competency. Skills I had previously adopted were challenged. Complications I encountered while recording my Tellagami audio recording, limited recording time prolonged the process and caused a road block. Using problem-solving skills, I was able to record my script in separate sections and later combine them using a different program called Microsoft Movie Maker. I still, however, approached another learning hurdle when trying to upload the file onto WordPress. This was quickly resolved when I easily uploaded the video to You-Tube and embedded the file on my blog. Creating a visual summation on Animoto was produced with ease, and I felt confident in my abilities. Researching the topics I have chosen has developed my ICT skills. However, I believe the valuable learning tools I engaged in while producing the visual and audible summaries are now abilities I will use throughout my working, social and university life. This blogging experience demonstrates the support, innovation and concept I wish to bring into the classroom as an Educator.

References

Holland, B. (2013, 12 16). Technology Integration. Retrieved from Edutopia: https://www.edutopia.org/blog/building-tech-fluency-digital-learners-beth-holland

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching Wih ICT. Victoria, Australia : Oxford University Press .

Selwyn, N. (2012, october 12). Education and Technology. Retrieved from ebrary : http://www.ebrary.com

 

Leave a comment